Contortion 2


This class is taught by:

Catie Brier

Catie has been a resident of San Francisco for over 8 years. She began her training at Dance and Circus Arts of Tampa Bay over 13 years ago, where she studied dance and contortion. During her time there she trained under choreographer Debra Brown and contortionist Laurence Racine. Upon moving to San Francisco she started training with Master Lu Yi at Circus Center. She went on to train with Mongolian contortionist Serchmaa Byamba and began performing all around the United States. She's been seen performing with companies such as Quixotic Fusion, Circus Bella, Trapeze World and New Pickle Circus. Throughout her career Catie has developed a passion for not only teaching the art of contortion but also inspiring people to push the limits of their bodies.

Grounded in Mongolian-based contortion technique, this class focuses on building routines for stretching, movement through contortion poses, and higher level contortion skills. Contortion 2 is designed to build endurance, as well as continuing to develop flexibility and strength. Students will be able to start working on poses such as Triple Fold and handstands while refining the skills learned in Contortion 1.

Prerequisite: Instructor approval

 
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Dec 12 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Dec 19 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jan 02 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jan 09 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jan 16 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Jan 23 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Feb 13 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Feb 20 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Feb 27 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Mar 06 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Mar 13 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier
  • Tue Mar 20 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Catie Brier